Makulova, Ankra Headline Award Winners

Makulova, Ankra Headline Award Winners

Sona Makulova and Isaiah Ankra were named Seneca Sting Athlete of the Year winners for the 2018-2019 season at the annual Athletics & Recreation Awards Banquet Wednesday night.

Makulova (Women's Soccer) was named Female Athlete of the Year after a banner season on the pitch. Makulova helped the Sting reach the OCAA Bronze Medal match at the OCAA Championship while also being named OCAA Rookie of the Year, OCAA East Division Scoring Champion and an OCAA East Division League All-Star.

The Male Athlete of the Year went the Isaiah Ankra (Men's Basketball). Ankra helped lead the Sting to the OCAA Bronze Medal game and was named an OCAA East Division 1st Team All-Star. Ankra also led the Sting to an OCAA East Division Championship (17-3).

Julia Fantin (Women's Rugby) was inducted into the Seneca Sting Hall of Fame. Fantin, the 2017 OCAA Women's Rugby Rookie of the Year, was a two-time OCAA All-Star as well as the 2017-18 Seneca Sting Female Rookie of the Year. Fantin also helped the Sting capture an OCAA Championship and OCAA Bronze Medal in her two seasons.

Craig Walker and Mervin Busby (Women's Basketball) were also inducted into the Seneca Sting Hall of Fame. The duo have been a part of the Women's Basketball program for two decades and were a part of two OCAA Championship teams (2005-06, 2006-07).

The final inductee into the Seneca Sting Hall of Fame was Linda Stapleton. The current Director of Sport & Recreation will be retiring August 31 after 42 years with the department. During her time, the Sting captured 13 national championships and more than 200 OCAA Championships.

Rookie of the Year distinction went to Makulova (Women's Soccer) and Men's Volleyball's Savino Marques.

Mary Zettel Memorial Leadership Award - Chantel Cifuentes (Women's Soccer)

Wayne Norrison Leadership Award - Bianca Zeppa (King Rec Council)

Stephen E. Quinlan Award - Edwin Kim (Men's Baseball)

Supreme Service Ring Award - Parminder Sandhu (S@Y Rec Council)

Linda Stapleton Sting 360 Award - Jessica Watt (Women's Rugby)

John Cruickshank - Shanda Cooper

President's Gavel - Brianna Bader and Parminder Sandhu

President's Awards (Team GPA) - Women's Softball

Council MVP:
King Recreation Council - Martin Chin
Markham Recreation Council - Aliyah Thomas
Newnham Recreation Council - Alik Derderian
Seneca @ York Recreation Council - Demid Tumanov
Varsity Council - Chantel Cifuentes

Council Seneca 360:
King Recreation Council - Stephanie Valdez
Markham Recreation Council - Patricia Del Rosal Balcazar
Newnham Recreation Council - Emma Bigelow
Seneca @ York Recreation Council - Parminder Sandhu

Team Most Valuable Player Awards:
Badminton - Danish Malhotra & Sarah Nguy
Baseball - Daniel Perrier
Basketball (Women's) - Chelsea Ramsay
Basketball (Men's) - Isaiah Ankra
Cross Country Running - Itamar Zilberman & Nicole Amendola
Dance - Emily Ernst
Golf - Kevin Sarrazin
Indoor Soccer (Women's) - Chantel Cifuentes
Indoor Soccer (Men's) - Jackson Ofosu
Rugby (Women's) - Julia Fantin
Rugby (Men's) - Liam McGuckian
Soccer (Women's) - Sona Makulova
Soccer (Men's) - Drai Gordon
Softball - Nicole Pound
Volleyball (Women's) - Taylor Butcher
Volleyball (Men's) - Savino Marques

Team Rookie of the Year Awards:
Badminton - Yaoren Liang
Baseball - Adam Koffman
Basketball (Women's) - Faith-Ann Allison
Basketball (Men's) - Johnny Kitenge
Dance - Caitlin Gamna
Golf - Jamie McCormack
Indoor Soccer (Women's) - Sona Makulova
Indoor Soccer (Men's) - Marcus McGlynn
Rugby (Women's) - Zoey Siciliano
Rugby (Men's) - Liam McLaughlin
Soccer (Women's) - Alessia Da Silva
Soccer (Men's) - Jacob Bauer
Softball - Alyssa Jansen
Volleyball (Women's) - Gabrielle Wicks
Volleyball (Men's) - Savino Marques

Sting 360 Awards (Recognizing Character, Excellence and Leadership):
Badminton - Tiffany Cheng
Baseball - Edwin Kim
Basketball (Women's) - Danielle Belcher
Basketball (Men's) - Jordan Anderson
Cross Country Running - Brian Lew
Dance - Tonia Choujaa
Golf - Julian Pelletier
Indoor Soccer (Women's) - Kristen Bettencourt
Indoor Soccer (Men's) - Khedar Caesar-Thompson
Rugby (Women's) - Jessica Watt
Rugby (Men's) - Omario Mullings
Soccer (Women's) - Chantel Cifuentes
Soccer (Men's) - Khedar Caesar-Thompson
Softball - Amanda Van de Graaf
Volleyball (Women's) - Nicole Boyd
Volleyball (Men's) - Toms Gaikis