Whiteley-Hoffelner, Ali Headline Award Winners

Whiteley-Hoffelner, Ali Headline Award Winners

Saffara Whiteley-Hoffelner and Yusuf Ali were named Seneca Sting Athlete of the Year winners for the 2017-2018 season at the annual Athletics & Recreation Awards Banquet Wednesday night.

Whiteley-Hoffelner (Women's Rugby) was named Female Athlete of the Year after a banner season for the Sting. Whiteley-Hoffelner helped the Sting capture their first OCAA Championship while being named OCAA Player of the Year, OCAA Championship MVP and an OCAA League All-Star.

The Male Athlete of the Year went the Ali (Men's Basketball) after he capped one of the greatest team and individual performaces in Sting history. Ali led the Sting to their first-ever National Championship and first OCAA Championship in 30 years. Ali was named both OCAA and CCAA Championship MVP along with an OCAA East Division First Team All-Star.

Sarah Givens (Women's Basketball/Women's Rugby) was inducted into the Seneca Sting Hall of Fame. Givens, a multiple time OCAA all-star in both rugby and basketball capped off her five-year career with the Sting by capturing an OCAA Championship with Women's Rugby and helped lead the Sting to the OCAA conference championship tournament.

Rookie of the Year distinction went to Julia Fantin (Women's Rugby) and Men's Basketball's Trevor Hutton and Jordan Anderson.

Mary Zettel Memorial Leadership Award - Brianna Bader (Women's Softball)

Wayne Norrison Leadership Award - Alik Derderian (Newnham Rec Council)

Stephen E. Quinlan Award - Chantel Cifuentes (Women's Soccer/Indoor Soccer)

Supreme Service Ring Award - Denis Martinez (King Rec Council)

Sting 360 Award - Ramon Laruan (Cross Country Running)

Council MVP:
King Recreation Council - Stephanie Valdez
Markham Recreation Council - Khody Bonas
Newnham Recreation Council - Alik Derderian
Seneca @ York Recreation Council - Demid Tumanov
Varsity Council - Lauren Watt

Council Seneca 360:
King Recreation Council - Sean James
Markham Recreation Council - Artur Bai
Newnham Recreation Council - Savio Rodrigues
Seneca @ York Recreation Council - Nikhil Pai

Team Most Valuable Player Awards:
Badminton - Raman Kumar
Baseball - Dwaine Nichol
Basketball (Women's) - Taylor Allicock & Sarah Givens
Basketball (Men's) - Yusuf Ali
Cross Country Running - Todd Walsh
Dance - Ralph Mao
Golf - Nick Ingoglia
Indoor Soccer (Women's) - Francesca Pedulla
Indoor Soccer (Men's) - Mark Misic
Rugby (Women's) - Saffara Whiteley-Hoffelner
Rugby (Men's) - Liam McGukian
Soccer (Women's) - Francesca Pedulla
Soccer (Men's) - Tajmir Ashraq
Softball - Brianna Bader
Volleyball (Women's) - Crystalyn O'Donnell
Volleyball (Men's) - Dilshan Subasinghe

Team Rookie of the Year Awards:
Badminton - Lin Qi
Baseball - Dan Perrier & Cameron Lewis
Basketball (Women's) - Brianna-mae Clough
Basketball (Men's) - Trevor Hutton & Jordan Anderson
Cross Country Running - Ramon Laruan
Dance - Aliza Dela Reyna
Golf - Kevin Sarrazin
Indoor Soccer (Women's) - Victoria Harvey
Indoor Soccer (Men's) - Khaedar Caesar-Thompson
Rugby (Women's) - Julia Fantin
Rugby (Men's) - Danilo Nikolic
Soccer (Women's) - Korina Lyte
Soccer (Men's) - Mustafa Ozcan
Softball - Jasmin Namnama & Nicole Pound
Volleyball (Women's) - Taylor Butcher
Volleyball (Men's) - Winson Lee

Sting 360 Awards (Recognizing Character, Excellence and Leadership):
Badminton - Vinson Wong
Baseball - Francisco Mata
Basketball (Women's) - Melody Lucena
Basketball (Men's) - Nabil Ibrahim
Cross Country Running - Todd Walsh & Vlad Genov
Dance - Emily Ernst
Golf - Scott Baker
Indoor Soccer (Women's) - Chantel Cifuentes
Indoor Soccer (Men's) - Mark Misic
Rugby (Women's) - Jessica Watt & Sarah Givens
Rugby (Men's) - Roy Walters
Soccer (Women's) - Angela DeCarli
Soccer (Men's) - Tajmir Ashraq
Softball - Brianna Bader
Volleyball (Women's) - Lauren Watt
Volleyball (Men's) - Richard Ngo